Understanding Adoption: Part 1

If you’re a new reader to my blog, I suggest you read more about my adoption story by clicking HERE before reading this post. The ‘Understanding Adoption’ posts will be similar to the personal post (linked above), but I will choose a topic and go a bit more in-depth. Every month or so I’m going to talk about different struggles I have with my adoption or how other people percieve it and what I think about how they percieve it. These will hopefully be posts you can all learn from whether you are adopted or not.

9c2baeba03f0bdef8fbe61f651cea9f3

One of the biggest misconceptions about adoption is that it only happens when the child was living in a bad home or foster care, when that is not the case for everyone. Most people generally don’t think about being adopted from birth or another country at first.

For me, I was adopted right from birth as explained in the post linked above. It wasn’t from any form of foster care or because my birth mom was a bad parent. She gave me up for adoption because she wanted the best for me. She wanted me to grow up in a world without cultural restrictions and with a healthy, strong, happy family that could give me the best of life. She wanted to raise me but because of cultural reasons, she was unable to care for me and didn’t want to get an abortion. She also made sure to release me into the care of a family of a different culture so they would be more accepting of me wanting to meet her one day and find out where I might have been.

1f7b3b84d995bc831064e32945572e2b

Of course when I was younger and didn’t know my full story, I thought all the worst things possible. But compared to some adopted children, I’ve been really lucky. I’m glad I didn’t have to go though foster care or taken away because of bad parenting. Of course there are more reasons but I’m just generally talking.

I’ve grown to be very grateful of everything my biological mom and my adoptive parents have given me.

From this post, I hope readers will take away that not all adopted child have had bad pasts.

Thanks for reading. Feel free to ask questions.

Part 2 will be up next month.

Xx Sarah

 

 

6 thoughts on “Understanding Adoption: Part 1

Leave a Reply

