Poetry: The Villanelle Way

I wrote the poem below in Grade 12 as an assignment for my writing class. This is one of the better, structured poems I have written to date. And that’s because of the teacher I had. She was and always will be a great teacher. She taught me so much education wise and more. So C. Collins if you’re reading this – thank you!

This style of poem I have tackled is called a Villanelle. If you’d like to learn more about this style of poetry, click HERE. One of the examples of a Villanelle style poem my teacher showed us was called Do No Go Gentle Into That Good Night by Dylan Thomas. It has now become one of my favorite poems. You can listen and read along HERE. Or watch the video down below:

I only hope you enjoy the work Dylan Thomas has done. He is very talented. If you’d like to check out more of his work, click HERE.

Now, please enjoy what I have written. I am proud of this piece of poetry. Leave your thoughts below and tell me what you think about it. Thanks.

For All We Do Know by Sarah Young

For all we do know is that we are here,
Cold hearted, wasting away with no care.
We keep pushing on until the next year.

Though smart we may be, we all have our fears,
Together as one, we breathe the same air.
For all we do know is that we are here.

Brave lads a many do still shed a tear.
Those who wear weaponry give us a scare.
We keep pushing on until the next year.

But out of control, some can hardly steer,
Away from the bad, into good, they swear.
For all we do know is that we are here.

With our great triumphs, we are praised with cheer.
Wanderers are not all lost, some just stare.
We keep pushing on until the next year.

So pay your dues and deeds, it’s very clear,
This thing called life may one day be called rare.
For all we do know is that we are here.
We keep pushing on until the next year.

If you’d like to see more of my poetry, let me know below!

XxSarah

Leave a Reply

